Food Review: MELT ~ The World Cafe – Mandarin Oriental Hotel

image

I wish my stomach was a bottomless pit, especially at buffets.

My parent’s 25th Wedding Anniversary definitely called for a celebration and what better option than to treat ourselves to a feast? In my humble opinion, I feel that Melt – The World Cafe is the best buffet in Singapore, in terms of spread and overall food quality.

Sadly, I didn’t manage to take pictures of everything but I tried my best.

image

Cold seafood section consisted of crabs, lobsters, scallops and mussels. They were extremely fresh! However, I was a tad disappointed because I read that were oysters and I didn’t see any.

image
image
image
Salad section:Β For the people who want to fool themselves they’re being healthy at a buffet

I walked past this without a second glance.

image
image
image

Japanese section: Skipped all of these but my brother said the salmon sashimi was very good. I’d say save your stomach space for the other food.

image
Anti-pasti

image
image
Bread

image
image

Indian section: My dad liked the naans and curry a lot. I thought it was decent but Carousell wins this one.

image
Roasted Chicken

Chinese section: There was roasted chicken. Sometimes there’ll be roasted duck and pork too. They also have noodles of the day, ranging from lor mee to laksa. We got laksa with lobster meat in it and my dad said it wasn’t too bad.

image
Grainfed Australian Cereal-crusted Beef

Roasts section: This was sooooo good. It was cooked to perfection. Three words describe this roast: juicy, tender, flavourful.

image

BBQ Section: This was my favourite part of the buffet. There was BBQ area outside which served grilled meats like chicken, beef, lamb and also satays. There was also suckling pig and lobster!! The grilled meats were well-seasoned, and had that charred and smoky taste to them.

image

From left to right: Tandoori meats, grilled lamb, roast beef, grilled lobster

Unpictured from the buffet are: Live Pasta station, Cheese section, Thai section, Mediterranean section

image

Honestly, I’d to love shrink and become small enough to swim in that fountain of chocolate.

image

Bread and Butter Pudding was very good. There was a distinct eggy taste which I liked although it was a bit on the sweet side.

image

Second best cake from the buffet, the first being “The Melt”, a fudgy chocolate cake which is not picture.

image

Pandan Layer Cake(background) was too sweet for my liking and Red Velvet Cake(foreground) was dry and tasteless.

image

New York Cheesecake and a chocolate-y cake at the back. I prefer the latter but the former was decent.

image

Creme puffs on the left and some type of chocolate on the right. Heard there were supposed to be macarons so I was really upset there weren’t any.

image
There was a live waffle station!!

I loved these waffles. Unfortunately, they are inconsistent in their waffles. The first one I ate was crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. It also didn’t turn soggy with the ice cream on top. When I went for my second round, the waffles were a bit burnt and turned super soft.

Moreover, the first round of my ice cream was more ice than cream. Despite this, when I came for my second round, the ice cream had become smooth and rich as they had gotten a new batch.

image
image
Additionally, there was a splendid array of fruits at the buffet. From bananas to yellow watermelon, you name it and they probably have it.

image
There were also some thai desserts and local kuehs that I didn’t try.

image

This buffet definitely made me melt, both literally and metaphorically. It very impressive and is one of the rare buffets that I actually prefer the savoury stuff to the desserts. Nevertheless, everything was delicious. My family came here for dinner and I’d to love to come again to try their brunch buffet or anything really.

Rating:
Food
9/10
Aesthetic
7/10
Price
7/10
Service
8/10

MELT – THE WORLD CAFE
5 Raffles Avenue, Marina Square, Singapore 039797
Tel: 6885 3500

Opening hours:
Breakfast: 6.30am – 10.30am
Lunch: 12.00pm – 2.30pm
Brunch: 12.00pm – 3pm (Sundays)
Dinner: 6.30pm – 9.30pm

http://www.mandarinoriental.com/singapore/fine-dining/melt-the-world-cafe/

Leave a Reply

